On the territory of the Old Royal Capital Cetinje, as a form of the local government, exists the local communities. Through the local communities, the population participate in affairs of immediate interest.

In addition to the activities prescribed by law, the inhabitants of Old Royal Capital Cetinje in local communities make decisions about the fulfillment of the local needs and interests in areas related to the collection of data on the social status of citizens, providing assistance to the authorities in the organization and conductions of the elections and referendums, spatial and urban planning as well as routing of development of the local community.

On the territory of the Old Royal Capital Cetinje exists 24 local communities. Of these, three local communities are located in the city area, and 21 in rural area.